Friday, 7 September 2012

#146 Book Review: Shadows

Shadows
Release Date: July 2nd 2012
Author: Paula Weston
Publisher: Text Publishing
Source: Publisher for Review
Format: Paperback
Where to Buy:  Fishpond | Booktopia | Dymocks
More Info: Goodreads
Summary from Goodreads:
It’s almost a year since Gaby Winters was in the car crash that killed her twin brother, Jude. Her body has healed in the sunshine of Pandanus Beach, but her grief is raw and constant. It doesn’t help that every night in her dreams she kills demons and other hell-spawn.

And then Rafa comes to town. Not only does he look exactly like the guy who’s been appearing in Gaby’s dreams—he claims a history with her brother that makes no sense. Gaby is forced to accept that what she thought she knew about herself and her life is only a shadow of the truth—and that the truth is more likely to be
found in the shadows of her nightmares.

Who is Rafa? Who are the Rephaim? And most importantly, who can she trust?

Fast-paced and gripping, Shadows, the first book in the Rephaim series, is a standout paranormal romance for fans of Richelle Mead and Stephenie Meyer.
Cover:
I'm not a huge fan of the cover but just by looking at it, I can definitely see that the book is about angels and the golden wings actually look cool!

Story:

Everywhere I go, I see shadows following me...

Shadows is such a gripping read I thoroughly enjoy reading about. Not only is the book fast-paced (which I absolutely love), the theme of angels in this book is unique and different. Plus, the book is Aussie so I know I have to read it! 

Shadows introduced me to a new world of angels and also the Rephaim. I was completely immersed in the story and before I knew it, I couldn't stop reading. I wanted to know more about everything in this world, the characters and the mysteries revolving around them. Paula Weston's writing was engaging and I absolutely adored her writing style. Her descriptions of setting was well-executed and made me feel as though I was a part of Gaby's story too. The story plot was unpredictable and Paula Weston managed to surprise me quite a few times throughout the story. The romance was just in the right proportion and I really enjoyed reading about the developing relationship between Gaby and Rafa!

Characters:
Gaby is a character I really adore! I completely connected with her and understand what she is going through. Her first encounter with Rafa is absolutely memorable. I love the way they both first meet and the way they start to fall for each other. There's something so assuring about the way Rafa acts and the way he brings himself which I really love! It's so funny that Rafa likes to call Gaby 'Gabe' and Gaby often fixes him by saying that her name is 'Gaby' and not 'Gabe'! The chemistry between these two characters are amazing and not only do I love both Gaby and Rafa, I also really enjoyed reading about other characters such as Maggie and the other Rephaims. Jude, Gabe's brother is one thing I'm very curious about and I can't wait to see where the sequel brings us!

Overall:
So you love books about angels? But you want something new and different? Then Shadows is absolutely the book for you! Fast-paced, engaging, gripping with amazing characters and unpredictable story plot, Shadows will introduce you to a brand new world of the Rephaim. Now you international readers don't worry! This book is published in Australia already but publishers in the US and UK have picked up the rights to publish this book so Shadows is heading your way soon! Meanwhile, I really can't wait for Haze, the sequel to Shadows!
4 Forget-Me-Not flowers for Shadows!
Thank you Text Publishing for the review copy!

10 comments:

  1. will be published outside of australia? awesome . gr8 review celine

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hiya, Celine! 8D

    I think the synopsis sounds very common in paranormal YA but I'm glad I read your review. I like that it's gripping and different from other angel books. And that cover? I actually think golden shadows are quite cool lol. XD

    ReplyDelete
  3. Brilliant review, Celine! This book is a favourite of mine so I'm really pleased to see you enjoyed it too. I thought the characters were great as well and agree that the proportion of romance was perfect. Definitely looking forward to the next book! :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I am SO happy this will be published internationally!! While I love our beautiful space of land, this book doesn't deserve to be hidden away here. The world needs to see what terrific talent Paul Weston has to offer! Shadows really surprised me in the best possible way. I LOVE the chemistry between Rafa and Gaby, aswell as the fresh take on angels. Sooooo excited to see what the sequel offers! AWESOME REVIEW!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Well I am glad to hear that this is coming to the U.S. I have to agree, I am not a fan of the cover, guess I will have to see what they do to pimp out the U.S. version. I love fast paced and unpredictable and different. I will be on the lookout for this to arrive in the U.S.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yay! Gosh, I loved this one, so I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Gaby was awesome and RAFFA! *swoons* I can't wait for the sequel now! :) Wonderful review, Celine! :D

    ReplyDelete
  7. You enjoyed it. WOOT! This was a great addition to the line of angel books on the shelf but it’s better than them all (well all the ones that come from overseas and that Halo train-wreck) because it’s unique and evidently Australian. Can’t wait for books two, three, four and whatever more Paula Weston has to come. So excited the US and UK get to have a taste of some more works of ours.

    (I really think angel books are the ones that are published overseas a lot – Halo, Embrace, Shadows... I would write an angel book but they’re not my forte :P

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yay, glad you loved this, too! I really liked Gaby and Rafa as well, they were a good couple! Bring on book #2!

    ReplyDelete
  9. The sounds like such a fantastic angel book! I love that it's Aussie AND unpredictable. I'm excited for when this comes to the US now. :) Fab review, Celine!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'm not a big fan of the cover either; the gold is way too gaudy and flashy in my opinion. I'm pleased you liked this book, though! I'm not a fan of YA angel books, but I've seen so many gushing reviews for this, including yours! :) Plus it's an Aussie, so how could it not be fantastic? ;)

    Fabulous review, Celine! I might buy this pick sometime, that is, once I'm not broke and can buy it on Fishpond. :/

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...